Trophy stacking: SSWSC wins Nordic sport award; others with club ties receive recognition

The Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club has been named its seventh U.S. Ski & Ski Jump Club/Nordic Combined Club of the Year, earning this distinction more times than any other club in North America.

The awards were presented at the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Awards ceremony Wednesday evening in Park City, Utah.

SSWSC has previously won the award in 2007, 2010, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020. The award is presented each year to a club that has distinguished itself as an outstanding program that provides mentoring to young athletes through high-level competition, resulting in athletic success.

“Winning the 2024 Combined Ski, Ski Jumping and Nordic Club of the Year award is a testament to the dedication and hard work of everyone involved in our wonderful organization,” Todd Wilson, SSWSC Ski Jumping and Ski Jumping Program Director, said in a statement. Journalist. “I am truly humbled to be surrounded by such a strong and supportive team…there is simply no other place on earth like the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club.”

Together, ski jumping and nordic played a major role in establishing the club and the Steamboat Springs community, said Dave Stewart, SSWSC athletic director. He credits Wilson and the club’s North team for continuing to strengthen North America’s leading North program.

“Today, what distinguishes the program most is the way Todd Wilson, along with head coaches Carl Denny, Garrett Fisk and Sam House, have created a close-knit, supportive community built on a positive culture, fun, motivation and pursuit.” Of dreams. The community they have created has become the program’s greatest strength, supporting the amazing achievements of so many athletes.

In addition to the Club of the Year award, former SSWSC Executive Director Walt Evans was honored with the US Ski and Snowboard Julius Blegen Award, the highest award given by US Ski and Snowboard.

Evans served as the club’s first full-time CEO from 1979 to 1983, helping bring continuity to the club and giving it direction and goals for the future. After leaving the club in 1983, he began working with US Ski and Snowboard and continued with that organization for 30 years.

The Julius Blegen Award is given annually to one recipient in recognition of his or her contribution to “distinguished service” to skiing and snowboarding in the United States over an extended period. It has been awarded since 1946 and Evans joins Sven Wick, a 1974 recipient, as the second recipient of the award with close ties to Steamboat Springs.

Also honored during the banquet were SSWSC graduates Olivia Giaccio and Eric Belshaw, who were named Freestyle Athlete of the Year and Combined Ski Jumping/Nordic Athlete of the Year, respectively.

“From recognizing the athletic achievements of SSWSC graduates to honoring the combined Nordic and ski jumping program and celebrating Walt’s lifetime accomplishments, these awards speak to the influence and reputation that Steamboat has in the competitive snow sports community,” said SSWSC Executive Director Brian Creel. “Eric, Olivia, Todd, Garrett, Carl, Sam and Walt represent the full range of personality and accomplishments that make Steamboat so special.”

Trophy stacking: SSWSC wins Nordic sport award; others with club ties receive recognition
Todd Wilson, SSWSC Ski Jumping and Snowboarding Program Director and Nordic Combined Program Director, delivers his acceptance speech for the US Ski & Snowboard Club of the Year/Nordic Combined Club of the Year award at the US Ski & Snowboard Awards on Wednesday, May 15, 2024, in Park City, Utah.
Ashley Diebold / Courtesy photos

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected