War Admiral wins the Triple Crown – Chicago Tribune

The most prominent sporting events in history today:

In 1937, War Admiral, ridden by Charles Curtsinger, won the Triple Crown with a three-length victory over Senshifter in the Belmont Stakes.

On this date:

1884 – James McLaughlin became the first jockey to win three Belmont Stakes in a row when he rode Panic to victory. He won with George Kenny (1883) and Forster (1882). McLaughlin repeated his feat in 1886-1888. McLaughlin’s triple matched by jockey Lafitte Pincay Jr. in 1984.

1925 – Willie MacFarlane beats Bobby Jones by one stroke in the second round of qualifying to capture the US Open. McFarlane shoots 291 at Worcester (Mass.) Country Club.

1927 – Johnny Weissmuller sets records in the 100-yard and 200-yard freestyle.

1943 – Count Fleet, ridden by Johnny Longden, wins the Triple Crown by 25 lengths in the Belmont Stakes. Count Fleet starts with odds of 1 to 20 on a race with no place or betting offer.

1952 – Jersey Joe Walcott scores a 15-round unanimous decision over Ezzard Charles in Philadelphia to retain the world heavyweight title.

1961 – The newly formed American Basketball League adopts the 3-point field goal.

1977 – The Portland Trail Blazers beat the Philadelphia 76ers 109-107 to win the NBA championship in six games. Portland became the first team in the league’s 31-year history to win four consecutive titles after losing the first two games.

1985 – Steve Cauthen wins the Epsom Derby aboard Sleep Anchor, becoming the only American jockey to win both the English Derby and the Kentucky Derby. Cauthen had ridden and confirmed victory in the 1978 Kentucky Derby.

1993 – Julie Krohn rode Colonial Affair to victory in the Belmont Stakes, becoming the first jockey to win the Triple Crown.

1994 – Arancha Sánchez Vicario and Sergi Bruguera had the best day of tennis in Spanish history. Sanchez Vicario defeats Mary Pierce 6-4, 6-4 in the French Open final, and Bruguera retains his title by defeating Spaniard Alberto Berasategui 6-3, 7-5, 2-6, 6-1.

1999 – Steffi Graf wins her sixth French Open title and her first Grand Slam tournament in nearly three years, defeating top seed Martina Hingis 4-6, 7-5, 6-2.

1999 – Charismatic lost his bid to become a 12th Triple Crown winner when he broke his left front cannon and sesamoid bone while finishing third to Lemon Drop Kid in the Belmont Stakes.

2004 – Smarty Jones lost his bid for the Triple Crown and a perfect record when he was run over by Beardstone near the end of a thrilling Belmont Stakes race. Beardstone, a 36-1 long shot ridden by Edgar Prado, returned $74, $14 and $8.60.

2005 – Young Spanish Rafael Nadal defeated unseeded Argentine Mariano Puerta in four sets to win the men’s singles title at the French Open. No. 4 seed Nadal became the youngest men’s Grand Slam champion since Pete Sampras won the US Open as a 19-year-old in 1990.

2011 – Rafael Nadal wins his sixth French Open title, after defeating Roger Federer 7-5, 7-6 (3), 5-7, 6-1 in the final.

2016 – Novak Djokovic became the first man in nearly half a century to win four consecutive Grand Slams and finally captured the elusive French Open title to complete his career Grand Slam, defeating Andy Murray 3-6, 6-1, 6-2, 6. -4.

2021 – Luis Saez rides Essential Quality to win the 153rd Belmont Stakes.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected